Come for all the major happenings across the football world. Stay for the original content that explores, reflects on and celebrates the beautiful game.
Follow us on



Who are the six new inductees of the Premier League Hall of Fame?

Six new players join Wayne Rooney and Patrick Vieira to become part of the Premier League’s Hall of Fame

Picture Courtesy of : Stuart Grout
Kompany at the open top bus parade after winning the 2011/12 Premier League

Kompany at the open top bus parade after winning the 2011/12 Premier League

The Premier League has announced six new Hall of Fame inductees– Sergio Aguero, Paul Scholes, Vincent Kompany, Didier Drogba, Ian Wright and Peter Schmeichel. 


The Premier League Hall of Fame was launched in 2021 that featured strikers Alan Shearer and Thiery Henry as inaugural inductees. They went on to add six players, with David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Eric Cantona, Steven Gerrard, Roy Keane, and Frank Lampard completing the 2021 list.


Likewise, they commenced the 2022 list with Wayne Rooney and Patrick Viera. The new additions take the total count of inductees up to 16. 



Sergio Aguero


The former Manchester City striker scored 184 league goals in 275 appearances, making him the highest-scoring overseas player in the Premier League.


The Argentinian joined City in 2011 and stayed for a decade when he lifted a total of five league titles. The 33-year-old had to retire early due to a heart condition bringing an end to his remarkable career.

He’ll be remembered for his iconic stoppage-time goal QPR on the final day of the 2011/2012 season that earned his club their first Premier League title. 



Paul Scholes


Paul Scholes was a Manchester United academy graduate who played in midfield. The Englishman scored 107 goals in 499 appearances between 1993 and 2013.

The 47-year-old won 11 Premier League titles under manager Sir Alex Ferguson before hanging his boots the same year Ferguson retired.



Vincent Kompany


Vincent Kompany signed for City in 2008, the same year when Manchester City were taken over by Sheikh Mansour's Abu Dhabi United Group (ADUG).


He played a key role in Manchester City’s transformation from a mid-table club to a title-winning force, winning four titles during his time at the Etihad.

He was named Premier League Player of the Season 2011/2012 for captaining his side to their first Premier League title.  



Didier Drogba


The former Chelsea striker managed to register 104 goals in 254 outings in the top-flight across two spells at the Stamford Bridge.

During his time in London, the Ivorian lifted the Premier League trophy 4 times. The 44-year-old earned the Golden Boot in 2006/07 and 2009/10 seasons helping the club clinch the title in the latter year.



Ian Wright


Arsenal’s goalscoring machine Ian Wright was the Gunner’s all-time leading goalscorer until Thierry Henry broke his record in 2005. He helped the club win the Premier League title for the first time in the 1997/1998 season.

The 58-year-old netted 113 league goals in 213 appearances during his time at Arsenal and a brief spell with West Ham.   



Peter Schmeichel


The first goalkeeper inducted to the Hall of Fame is former Manchester United shot-stopper Peter Schmeichel. The Dane won five league titles during his time at Old Trafford between 1991 and 1999.

The 58-year-old went on to play for Aston Villa and Manchester City before calling time on his career, amassing 128 cleansheets and 1 goal in 310 top-flight appearances.


Roman Abramovich photographed at Stamford Bridge


Chelsea confirm club’s sale and end of Roman Abramovich era

The Todd Boehly-led consortium wins the bid to acquire the London Club

2 years ago

Arteta celebrating Arsenal's FA Cup win


Mikel Arteta signs new three-year contract with Arsenal

Arsenal manager Mikel Arteta extends his stay in North London until 2025

2 years ago

Roman Abramovich photographed at Stamford Bridge


Roman Abramovich addresses media speculation and clarifies position in latest Chelsea statement

Chelsea are in the process of finalising a takeover for which American Todd Boehly has already been chosen as the preferred bidder

2 years ago

Salah holding the UEFA Super Cup after Liverpool beat Chelsea on penalties


Salah bags prestigious accolade for the second time

Chelsea’s Sam Kerr is named the Women’s Footballer of the Year

2 years ago

Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp gestures to the fans at Anfield


Jurgen Klopp extends Anfield stay till 2026

The German had earlier said he would only remain past 2024 “if I had the energy”

2 years ago